FINALS: Powerade Tigers 1 - 3 Talk N Text Tropang Texters
Norman Black and Frankie Lim will cement their highly-successful coaching campaign in the recent season as they are set to receive the UAAP and NCAA Coach of the Year awards during the Collegiate Basketball Awards on January 21 at the Gateway Suites in Quezon City.

Black steered Ateneo to its fourth straight conquest of the UAAP while Lim powered the Red Lions to their fifth crown in six years making them the hands-down choices for the award to be presented by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and SMART.

Black and Lim will share the limelight with Mythical Five members Calvin Abueva of San Sebastian, Bobby Ray Parks of National University, Greg Slaughter and Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo and Garvo Lanete of San Beda.

Black will be receiving the citation for the fourth time. As for Lim, it is the third Coach of the Year award of his career.

On his way to his fourth title as a coach, Black came close to a clean sweep finishing the elimination round with a 13-1 win-loss card, a semifinal victory over University of Santo Tomas and beating Far Eastern University in the race-to-two finals series.

Aside from his success with Ateneo, Black instilled the same winning attitude in the Sinag Pilipinas national team as they snared the gold medal in the Southeast Asian Games in Indonesia last November.

Without Sudan Daniel, San Beda wasn’t the dominating team it was in previous seasons but Lim was able to shrug off the loss of his top player by surviving the tough stand of other teams that culminated with the Red Lions beating San Sebastian in the finals via sweep.

It will be the third time that Black and Lim will share the coaching honor given by the group of scribes covering the collegiate basketball beat.


Leave a Reply.

Web Apps